My TBR List Voting August 2017

Posted August 5, 2017 by Whitney in To Be Read List / 10 Comments


My TBR Meme is hosted by Michelle at Because Reading, this monthly meme’s purpose to help tackle one’s ever-growing tbr. On the first Saturday of each month participants post three books from their to-read list and allow others to vote on what they should read next. The following Saturday, the winning book is revealed with a review of said book posted on the last Saturday of the month.

This Month I Picked

My TBR List Voting August 2017The Longest Night
Author Andria Williams
Publisher Random House
Publication Date January 12th 2016
Add to Goodreads

In this absorbing and suspenseful debut novel—reminiscent of Revolutionary Road and inspired by a little-known piece of history—a young couple must fight to save both their marriage and the town they live in.

In 1959, Nat Collier moves with her husband, Paul, and their two young daughters to Idaho Falls, a remote military town. An Army Specialist, Paul is stationed there to help oversee one of the country’s first nuclear reactors—an assignment that seems full of opportunity.

Then, on his rounds, Paul discovers that the reactor is compromised, placing his family and the entire community in danger. Worse, his superiors set out to cover up the problem rather than fix it. Paul can’t bring himself to tell Nat the truth, but his lies only widen a growing gulf between them.

Lonely and restless, Nat is having trouble adjusting to their new life. She struggles to fit into her role as a housewife and longs for a real friend. When she meets a rancher, Esrom, she finds herself drawn to him, comforted by his kindness and company. But as rumors spread, the secrets between Nat and Paul build and threaten to reach a breaking point.

Based on a true story of the only fatal nuclear accident to occur in America, The Longest Night is a deeply moving novel that explores the intricate makeup of a marriage, the shifting nature of trust, and the ways we try to protect the ones we love.

My TBR List Voting August 2017The Vatican Princess: A Novel of Lucrezia Borgia
Author C.W. Gortner
Publisher Ballantine Books
Publication Date February 9th 2016
Add to Goodreads

For fans of Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir, a gripping novel that follows the extraordinary life of young Lucrezia Borgia, the legendary Renaissance Pope Alexander’s beautiful daughter. Was she the heartless seductress of legend? Or merely an unsuspecting pawn in a familial web, forced to choose between loyalty and her own survival?

Glamorous and predatory, the Borgias became Italy’s most ruthless and powerful family, electrifying and terrorizing their 15th-century Renaissance world.

To this day, Lucrezia Borgia is known as one of history’s most notorious villainesses, accused of incest and luring men to doom with her arsenal of poison.

International bestselling author C.W. Gortner’s new novel delves beyond the myth to depict Lucrezia in her own voice, from her pampered childhood in the palaces of Rome to her ill-fated, scandalous arranged marriages and complex relationship with her adored father and her rival brothers—brutal Juan and enigmatic Cesare.

This is the dramatic, untold story of a papal princess who came of age in an era of savage intrigue and unparalleled splendor, and whose courage led her to overcome the fate imposed on her by her Borgia blood.

My TBR List Voting August 2017Circling the Sun
Author Paula McLain
Publisher Ballantine Books
Publication Date July 28th 2015
Add to Goodreads

Brought to Kenya from England as a child and then abandoned by her mother, Beryl is raised by both her father and the native Kipsigis tribe who share his estate. Her unconventional upbringing transforms Beryl into a bold young woman with a fierce love of all things wild and an inherent understanding of nature’s delicate balance. But even the wild child must grow up, and when everything Beryl knows and trusts dissolves, she is catapulted into a string of disastrous relationships.

Beryl forges her own path as a horse trainer, and her uncommon style attracts the eye of the Happy Valley set, a decadent, bohemian community of European expats who also live and love by their own set of rules. But it’s the ruggedly charismatic Denys Finch Hatton who ultimately helps Beryl navigate the uncharted territory of her own heart. The intensity of their love reveals Beryl’s truest self and her fate: to fly.

Vote!


Tags:


Never miss a book review! Receive updates in your inbox.



Your email address will not be shared with anyone




10 responses to “My TBR List Voting August 2017

  1. I have been wanting to read The Longest Night for quite a while now and so voted for that one. It sounds so good. But then I saw The Vatican Princess . . . I ended up going with The Longest Night. Maybe if you read and love it, I will get to it sooner. LOL I couldn’t finish The Paris Wife and so am really hesitant to give McClain another try. Hopefully Circling the Sun will be good. I hope you enjoy whichever wins! Have a great weekend, Whitney!

  2. I went with the Vatican Princess – I find the Borgia’s fascinating, and that time period in general. Plus, it sounds like one I would really like to read, so I can’t wait to hear what you think! Hope you enjoy whatever wins 🙂
    Berls recently posted…My TBR List August 2017 ChoicesMy Profile

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge