Waiting On Wednesday: The Storm Sister

Posted March 2, 2016 by Whitney in Waiting on wednesday / 13 Comments

Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking The Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

The Storm Sister by Lucinda Riley
Publication Date: March 22, 2016
Add to Goodreads
Pre-Order with Amazon

Ally D’Aplièse is about to compete in one of the world’s most perilous yacht races, when she hears the news of her adoptive father’s sudden, mysterious death. Rushing back to meet her five sisters at their family home, she discovers that her father – an elusive billionaire affectionately known to his daughters as Pa Salt – has left each of them a tantalising clue to their true heritage.

Ally has also recently embarked on a deeply passionate love affair that will change her destiny forever. But with her life now turned upside down, Ally decides to leave the open seas and follow the trail that her father left her, which leads her to the icy beauty of Norway . . .

There, Ally begins to discover her roots – and how her story is inextricably bound to that of a young unknown singer, Anna Landvik, who lived there over 100 years before, and sang in the first performance of Grieg’s iconic music set to Ibsen’s play ‘Peer Gynt’. As Ally learns more about Anna, she also begins to question who her father, Pa Salt, really was. And why is the seventh sister missing?

 

“Praise for THE SEVEN SISTERS: Riley has written another intricately plotted, compelling family saga, which presents historical and cultural attitudes of the time and place in which her characters live. Like the famous statue that brought the lovers together and hovers over Rio today, the story is elegantly sculpted and rich with history… the book will please fans of romance as well as historical fiction lovers.”
– Library Journal“A brilliant page-turner, soaked in glamour and romance.”
– The Daily Mail

“Riley is a skilled storyteller of epic romances, intertwining established history with imagined backstories. An engrossing, sweeping tale, the first in a new series that explores the mythology behind the constellation, The Seven Sisters will appeal to fans of Kristin Hannah and Linda Gillard while leaving readers anxious to learn about the histories of the stars’ other namesakes.”
– Booklist

“Lucinda Riley is one of the strongest authors in this genre of historical fiction. Her ability to weave stories together, using modern-day and historical settings, is top notch…This novel will appeal to readers of multiple genres as it contains excellent historical detail, heart-wrenching romance, and an engaging mystery.”
– Historical Novel Society

“Riley launches her most ambitious andexciting writing project to date……a labyrinth of seductive time-switchstories, the enchanting brand of novel writing which has made Riley one of thebest women’s fiction authors on the market… An epic start to an epic series.”
– The Lancashire Evening Post

Tags:



Never miss a book review! Receive updates in your inbox.



Your email address will not be shared with anyone




13 responses to “Waiting On Wednesday: The Storm Sister

  1. Barb(Boxermommyreads)

    This isn’t my usual read, but I am really loving that cover and it might be something I want to check out someday.

  2. Kay

    Have you read the first book in this series? I remember noticing it a while back and then saw this one. Can’t remember if I saw reviews, but the first did look good. Bet this one will be too.

  3. Oh goodness, I just adore that cover! I’ve heard of this author and keep meaning to read her books. Does this have to be read in order? I think it’s from a series, but I could be wrong. Anyway, I’m interested.

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge