Month: February 2016

Month in Review: February 2016

Month in Review: February 2016

Posted February 29, 2016 by Whitney in Monthly Review / 11 Comments

* Do you write a monthly wrap-up post? How did you do this month? Share with me and/or visit The Book Date who has a monthly link-up for exactly that. I did review many books this month but heavily indulged in the Harry Potter series.   Reviewed: Under the Wide and Starry Sky by Nancy […]

Sunday Post #72

Sunday Post #72

Posted February 28, 2016 by Whitney in Sunday Post / 20 Comments

Sunday Post hosted by Kimba the Caffeinated Book Reviewer is a chance to share news~ A post to recap the past week on your blog, showcase books and things we have received, and share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a […]

Waiting On Wednesday: Sisi

Waiting On Wednesday: Sisi

Posted February 24, 2016 by Whitney in Waiting on wednesday / 7 Comments

Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating. Sisi: Empress on Her Own by Alison Pataki Expected Publication: March 8, 2016 Add to Goodreads Pre-Order Sisi: Empress on Her Own: A Novel For readers of Philippa Gregory, Paula McLain, and Daisy Goodwin comes […]

A New Home & Look

A New Home & Look

Posted February 23, 2016 by Whitney in Wordpress / 13 Comments

I have a new home, and finally made the move to a self-hosted site!  After six years I worked up the courage, and with that move came a big facelift.  Not only did I redesign, but also rebranded. Upon choosing a domain, I found that sheistoofondofbooks was already taken as were other variations.  I could […]

Be Right Back!

Be Right Back!

Posted February 19, 2016 by Whitney in Wordpress / 3 Comments

I’ve been absent on the blog as of late but I have a good reason.  I’ve been researching “how tos” regarding a self-hosted blog.  I’ll be back with nail bitten fingers next week.  In the meantime, wish me luck with fingers crossed that I don’t hit a wrong button.  Please come back and check out […]

Waiting On Wednesday : At the Existentialist Cafe

Waiting On Wednesday : At the Existentialist Cafe

Posted February 10, 2016 by Whitney in Waiting on wednesday / 1 Comment

Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking The Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating. At the Existentialist Cafe by Sarah Bakewell Publication Date: March 1, 2016 Add to Goodreads  Pre-order at Amazon From the best-selling author of How to Live, a spirited account of one of the twentieth century’s […]

To WordPress or not to WordPress

To WordPress or not to WordPress

Posted February 8, 2016 by Whitney in Wordpress / 0 Comments

To WordPress or not to WordPress, that is the question.  For the past year I have toyed with the idea of going self-hosted.  Although like all new ventures change is scary.  I have googled, researched and oogled the many plugins but haven’t been able pull the trigger just yet.  My cousin Maya, a fashion blogger […]

Sunday Post #71

Sunday Post #71

Posted February 7, 2016 by Whitney in Sunday Post / 0 Comments

Sunday Post hosted by Kimba the Caffeinated Book Reviewer is a chance to share news~ A post to recap the past week on your blog, showcase books and things we have received and share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a place to meet […]

Under the Wide and Starry Sky by Nancy Horan

Under the Wide and Starry Sky by Nancy Horan

Posted February 4, 2016 by Whitney in Review / 3 Comments

First Impressions Nancy Horan once again brings life to a woman behind a famous man. In Under the Wide and Starry Sky Fanny Osbourne is drawn vividly with a tapestry of a story to tell. Impressions While Reading What I liked about Robert Louis Stevenson and Fanny’s courtship was that not only did they value […]

Cold Betrayal by J.A. Jance

Cold Betrayal by J.A. Jance

Posted February 2, 2016 by Whitney in Review / 0 Comments

First Impressions Cold Betrayal by J.A. Jance is the second Ali Reynolds novel I have read and like a good wine the series gets better with age. Impressions While Reading I thought the subject matter of polygamy, while maybe not original, was well established with an intricate web of action. Certain aspects were a little […]